Friday, January 24, 2014


Being awarded a Commission Big Game Permit can mean big fundraising dollars for
conservation-based nonprofits
PRATT – On Jan. 9, 2014, a total of seven conservation-based nonprofit organizations were awarded a Commission Big Game Permit at the Kansas Department of Wildlife, Parks and Tourism’s commission public meeting held at Southwestern College in Winfield. A total of 99 successful applications were received for the seven highly-sought after permits consisting of one elk, one antelope, and five deer permits. Because each organization is asked to rank each permit by first choice through last choice, a total of one elk and six deer permits were awarded this year. In order to be considered for this drawing, applicants had to be a Kansas-based nonprofit organization that works to promote wildlife conservation, as well as hunting and fishing.
2014 Commission Big Game Permit winners are as follows:
RMEF - Traveling Committee
Ducks Unlimited - Cloud County Chapter
Quail & Upland Wildlife Federation, Inc. - Kaw Valley
Quail & Upland Wildlife Federation, Inc.
Friends of NRA - South Central KS - Pratt #KS-18
Friends of NRA - Sunflower State #KS-30
Deer: Friends of NRA - Tri Valley #KS-36
The winning applicants received the permit in the form of a voucher. Typically these vouchers are sold to the highest bidder, who can then exchange the voucher for their designated big game permit through the Kansas Department of Wildlife, Parks and Tourism (KDWPT) licensing section. Once a voucher is sold, the price of the permit and 85 percent of the total is returned to KDWPT. The conservation group keeps 15 percent to spend at its discretion. After a conservation project is approved, the 85 percent is returned to the group to fund the project.
Past projects include Pass It On activities, Hunter Education courses, habitat development and restoration, as well as archery and shooting clinics for youth and adults.
For more information on the Commission Big Game Permit program, or instructions on how to apply for 2015, contact commission secretary Sheila Kemmis at (620) 672-0702.

No comments:

Post a Comment